Welcome to our board! Log In Create A New Profile
Use mobile view

Advanced

A good cup of tea – September Short Story Topic – One Shot

Frances S.
September 30, 2019 07:28PM
Better late than never ... This is my first attempt at fanfiction that has escaped to the public ... (and, as you probably can see, I'm not a native speaker)

Charlotte believed that the answer to everything was in a good cup of tea. And it seemed that Mr. Darcy held the same belief, Elizabeth thought when Sarah followed Mr. Darcy into the drawing room to deliver a small tea set for his personal use. Having the fire almost behind her for more light, Elizabeth had a perfect view of Mr. Darcy's profile as he unfolded and read a letter. Hidden from general view, his face was far more expressive than Elizabeth had ever seen.

He shifted from thoughtful to amused as he read. With a suppressed smile and a slightly raised eyebrow, he put the letter beside on the desk and picked up his pen. Could it be that Mr. Darcy was teasing the recipient of his letter?

Suddenly, he put the pen away and folded letter he had received. When Miss Bingley arrived behind him, his face was back to the usual haughty expression and he held the folded letter protectively over the letter he had been writing. “How delighted Miss Darcy will be to receive such a letter!” He made no answer. “I am afraid you do not like your pen. Let me mend it for you. I mend pens remarkably well.” “Thank you—but I always mend my own.” “How can you contrive to write so even?” Probably a lot of practice and the knowledge that carelessness would cost at least a lot of time, Elizabeth thought.