Welcome to our board! Log In Create A New Profile
Use mobile view

Advanced

The Other Mr. Bingley - Chapter Ten

May 02, 2016 11:18PM
Last Chapter - although i will be posting a brief Epilogue

Chapter Ten

Monday December 23, 1811

Mrs. Bennet had the pleasure of receiving her brother and his wife, who came as usual to spend Christmas at Longbourn and, this year, to attend Elizabeth’s wedding. Mr. Gardiner was a sensible, gentlemanlike man, greatly superior to his sister by nature and education. The Netherfield ladies would have had difficulty in believing that a man who lived by trade, and within view of his own warehouses, could have been so well bred and agreeable. Mrs. Gardiner, who was several years younger than Mrs. Bennet and Mrs. Philips, was an amiable, intelligent, elegant woman, and a great favourite with all her Longbourn nieces. Between the two eldest and herself especially, there subsisted a very particular regard. They had frequently stayed with her in town.

The first part of Mrs. Gardiner’s business on her arrival, was to distribute her presents and describe the newest fashions. When this was done, she had a less active part to play. It became her turn to listen. Mrs. Bennet had much happy news and one grievance to relate, and despite the fact that two of her daughters were to marry, the manner in which that was to be accomplished left her with much to complain of. It was firmly fixed in her mind that she had not been afforded sufficient time to prepare for Elizabeth’s wedding and the affair would reflect poorly on her and the Bennet family.

“They would not heed me, sister. I have been allowed but three weeks to arrange Lizzy’s wedding – three weeks when three months would hardly been enough time. But so it is. Those who have been most poorly used are not allowed to complain. How I am to bear the mortification, I do not know. No flowers, sister! No flowers are to be had and Mr. Bennet will not allow me to send for them from London.”